What slippage is normal? Stats on my 4621 trades

MarkDragon

Jan 20, 2016
Hi all!

I’ve been trading for about 5 years - algo trading on the majors, doing 5 to 50 intraday trades per day per symbol, flat at the end of each session.

I’ve been analyzing my trades - profits and losses, and recently I have figured out the exact impact of slippage on my trading results. Below is the explanation of my measurements and calculations. Pretty substantially not in my favor I must say.

I built a script to calculate the differences between the prices my algo sees when sending trades and actual execution prices. My algo is hosted on a VPS CNS and I’m trading on a Pepperstone Razor account, so the latency to broker’s server is not more than 1 ms.

I’ve collected data for more than 1.5 months and now I have stats on 4621 trades and got following results:

Y5gDLqSarWSzhgnr1NY9S7GQEAFbMHYSzzHdF4hU1SX_CAG1bPFugULdgj9JVZrAVfhYSPAfegcorldYBPNEmIVYi5y2RYUh7wiZVr87-OSRp8I1Q5G5BjyMXcSlIXbZ0y6P0qbm

This means on average I lose about 1.71 pips (4th decimal) on slippage each trade .
Having 10 trades a day means that I lose on slippage 17.1 pips a day -> 376.2 pips per month -> 4,514.4 pips a year.

When I calculate the sum in USD the figure really scares me - it’s 4 times more than I have in my account!!! If I could keep this money I’d be way closer to retiring.

At your brokers - what slippage do you see?
What do you do to reduce your losses from slippage?

• 👍
Reactions: Enivid

ijak8510

Trader
Sep 29, 2015
i trade with a variable spreads broker, and i think it is normal for variable brokers or EcN brokers have slipage.
i think if someone want to reduce losses from slipage. my solutiion will be trade with fixed spreads broker.
and talking about slipage. perhaps this article helps

MarkDragon

Jan 20, 2016
Fixed/variable spreads have nothing to do with slippage. Slippage depends on the execution model - Instant or Market.