Spread costs in MQL5

niceno

Trader
Jun 28, 2023
Dear all,

I am new to trading and am developing my first strategies in MQL5. Up to now, I am only testing different strategies in Strategy Tester. Whenever I open a position, I am essentially buying, I only "go long", because "going short" is still a bit nebulous in my mind.

Imagine I start with 10'000. I open a position (buy it) and use these functions to check the account status in a log file:
MQL5:
FileWrite(LogFile, " - balance:                 ", AccountInfoDouble(ACCOUNT_BALANCE));
FileWrite(LogFile, " - equity:                  ", AccountInfoDouble(ACCOUNT_EQUITY));
FileWrite(LogFile, " - profit:                  ", AccountInfoDouble(ACCOUNT_PROFIT));
double spreadCost = SymbolInfoInteger(_Symbol, SYMBOL_SPREAD) * _Point * Lots * CONTRACT_SIZE;
FileWrite(LogFile, " - spread cost:             ", NormalizeDouble(spreadCost, _Digits));

After that purchase I see the following lines in the log file:
Code:
- balance:     10000.0
- equity:       9988.9
- profit:        -11.1
- spread cost:    11.1

Equity is balance plus profit, 10000 - 11.1 = 9988.9, all is fine and logical. The profit (-11.1) is due to spread cost, which I double check with last two lines of the code snippet above and third and fourth line in the log file. So far all is still clear.

However, when I close the position (sell it in my case), which I sold for mere 2.7 more than I bough it, I get the following output in my log file:
Code:
- balance:      9996.02
- equity:       9996.02
- profit:          0.0
- spread cost:    11.4

Although I earned 2.7, I also had to pay for keeping the position over one night. I checked it with a call to: HistoryDealGetDouble(closeTicket, DEAL_SWAP); and it amounts to 6.68. So, I started with 10000, earned 2.7, but spent 6.68 for deal swap, so balance is 10000 - 6.68 + 2.7 = 9996.02, but I don't see the spread costs ever accounted for? Where did all the spread costs go?