I have questions!

jyi2

Trader
May 26, 2012
Hi I am about to start trading in forex. I have some knowledge about technical analysis and tried the demo account for a couple of months. I can earn a few hundred dollars a week with the virtual money given. and I have a few questions here:

1. Will I be disadvantaged in any way if I am to start with only 500 bucks? Is it possible to earn 1000 bucks for the first month?
2. Any advice on minimizing losses other than setting stop-loss points?
3. How long do you guys usually spend observing and analyzing before entering into a trade?
4. Is technical analysis working most of the time as claimed by forex books?

Enivid

Administrator
Staff member
Nov 30, 2008
Odesa
www.earnforex.com
1. Depends on your broker's minimum allowed position size. With micro-lots (or less) you will be OK. It is possible to turn $500 to $1,000 in one month, but you will have to risk a lot, so the probability of that is perhaps only slightly better than betting $500 on red/black in a roulette to double it. While the latter is definitely faster than 1 month.

2. Yes, calculate your position size according to your stop-loss for not to risk more than 1-1.5% per trade.

3. Depends on a strategy. 10-15 minutes is usually enough for my entries.

4. Technical indicators seem to not be working for me at all. That's why I am all into basic chart patterns.

Fxpipper

Master Trader
Oct 26, 2011
Depends on the lot size, leverage opted for, strategy and your win ratio..way too many variables to even post a decent reply. But let me give it a shot, more money to trade with need not necessarily translate to more profits unless you know how to trade well.

Do note, demo accounts and live accounts are slightly different with faster executions on the live account but even that, depends on the broker.

On stop loss, second enivid's suggestion