100% newbie to Forex. Puzzled.

not gandhi

Feb 23, 2018
Hi, nice to "meet" you all.

As per thread's title, I am a complete newbie to forex trading.

Now.. I had this normal saving account - not a trading account - and for an emergecny, I had to change a considerable amount of money from EUR to USD. I placed an order, and bought USD at the rate the bank offered, I can't remember but let's say 1.16. Done.

However, that emergency dissipated, and now I had USD to change back to EUR. I noticed my bank had a tool to place an order that would be executed only meeting a given rate requirement, so I set it to 1.17, just for the sake of it. The requirement was met within the next 7 days, and boom - I made 1k EUR from... a mistake of sorts.

So I am wondering - Can I just go back and forth setting such orders and selling and buying as certain rates are met, and maybe make something a week, then skip one, then make a bit more 10 days later, and on and on? Or am I missing something? Seems to good to be true.

Thanks for any insight you have to share.

• 👍
Reactions: KASHIF 007

Enivid

Administrator
Staff member
Nov 30, 2008
Odesa
www.earnforex.com
Yes, you can certainly do that. Things to consider:

1. Trading in such a way, you do not use any leverage, you just trade with your funds.
2. You get the actual delivery of currency (unlike spot Forex trading).
3. Depending on how your bank operates, you might miss your sell/buy point if your bank happens to be closed at the time the ordered price level is reached.
4. The biggest catch: your commission/spread is probably exorbitant compared to what retail traders pay normally when trading via online brokers.

Good luck with your trading!

• 👍

jellyeb

Active Trader
Jun 10, 2015