Realistic approach to trading/Trading floor for like minded traders

Realist

Feb 23, 2017
Hi everyone,

I am new to this forum but not to forex trading. I have gathered a few years experience. Periods with wins and periods with losses. Been through what most people who endeavours to succeed with trading has to experience.

Most people will quit after a while. This can very often be a losing game. Newcomers are most probably gonna seek help or try to learn from the wrong sources. A whole bi-industry of forex trading selling aid to rookies. Coaching, mentoring, selling indicators, sellings signals, books and so on.

This will never make you succeed. The only person that can make you succeed is yourself. Your approach to the market and motivation to learn from it. The ones who realises this will pursuit further, than the ones who doesn`t. The ones who doesn`t will abandon the project.

If you are serious about trading you don`t believe you will be rich quickly. Lay the fundaments slowly. If you can acchieve +30 percent return of your capital a year, with decent risk profile (Sharpe ratio etc.) , you compete with the very best hedge funds/funds. The old model for these are 2/20. 2 percent of the fund in wage and 20 percent of gains as bonus.

It is possible to do better, still be realistic. If you maintain this acchievement for several years you could become attractive for people with money/employers. Also you are building your capital, that is the most important thing. To acchieve this find your edge in the market. I strongly advise you to learn a programming language. A language you can use with an API or trading platform. Make your own indicators and stick to them. Also the word yielding is something you should be aware of. Expectations of yields drives the markets.

I am working full time in employment outside the trading industry. My goal is to start working full time as an trader. Either employeed or using own capital trading.